Kurt Schork Memorial Fund


The Kurt Schork Memorial Fund exists to keep the world aware of the debt we owe to brave journalists who bring us news from dangerous places. Our annual Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism uniquely honor the work of freelance journalists, local reporters and news fixers in developing countries or nations in transition who often otherwise receive little recognition.

Samantha Power at the 2021 Kurt Schork Awards

On October 20th 2021, the Thomson Reuters Foundation and the Kurt Schork Memorial Fund hosted an online event to recognise the courageous work of the 2020 and 2021 winners, and mark the 20th anniversary of the Awards. In a powerful keynote speech, Samantha Power – Administrator of the United States Agency for International Development – reflected on her experiences of reporting on the frontlines of the Bosnian War with Kurt and his enduring legacy.

Watch her keynote: 

Awards update

  • Press Release
  • The Kurt Schork Memorial Fund (KSMF) is now accepting submissions for its 2022 Awards in International Journalism. The Awards honour excellence in courageous reporting of conflict, corruption, human rights transgressions and other related issues.
  • Read more

The program is named after an American freelance journalist who died in a military ambush in Sierra Leone on May 24, 2000, while on assignment for international news agency Reuters. Read more ...

Each year, at a prestigious ceremony in London, we give cash prizes to two journalists and a news fixer who produce the kind of reporting for which Kurt had earned widespread admiration. Read more ...

The awards were launched in 2001, after Kurt’s family, friends and colleagues set up the Fund with help from Reuters. We welcome donations to reinforce our work so that we can continue supporting these courageous but often unlauded news providers for years to come. Read more ...