Kurt Schork Memorial Fund

Home » Winners past and present

Unique perspectives from inside Syria’s civil war and exposure of health and safety failings in Chinese manufacturing won the attention and admiration of the jury in last year’s Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism, presented in London on Thursday, November 28, 2013.

Rania AbouzeidRania Abouzeid, a Lebanese Australian based in Beirut, Lebanon, won the Freelance category award for her stories published by Time magazine and the New Yorker covering the Syrian conflict. 

The judges’ unanimous decision lauded her extraordinary access to life inside rebel factions and vivid eyewitness accounts and hard-won factual information that penetrated to the heart of an important, dangerous and confusing story. Read Rania’s entries and story statements

Fiona Xiao-Mi TanThe Local Reporter category was won by China’s Fiona Xiao-Mi Tam for her revelatory exposure, while based in Guangdong Province, of an appalling scale of health and safety abuse of workers in China’s booming manufacturing sector published by the South China Morning Post.

Read Fiona’s entries and story statements

More than 100 journalists representing 36 nationalities submitted entries in the 12th year of the awards. A shortlist of eight in each of the two categories was judged by broadcaster Michael Buerk, Channel 4 News (UK) International Editor, Lindsey Hilsum, freelance journalist, author, editor and President, Foreign Press Association in London, Paola Totaro and Director of Programmes at Al Jazeera English, Paul Eedle.

The other 2013 shortlisted entrants (in no particular order) were:

Freelance category Iona Craig (Republic of Ireland), Glen Johnson (New Zealand), Peter Chilson (USA), Tristan McConnell (UK), Francesca Borri (Italy), Lauren E. Bohn (USA) and Mary Cuddehe (USA).

Local Reporter category Jekonia Otieno (Kenya), Kipkoros Koima (Kenya), Reji Joseph (India), Hashmatullah Kohestani (Afghanistan), Syed Nazakat (India), Zorayda Gallegos (Mexico) and Saba Abu-Farha (Jordan).